An Overview of Florida's DUI Penalties: Not a Pretty Picture

 

DUI, or Driving Under the Influence, is a crime in Florida—a serious one, with serious penalties.

If it’s your first offense, you’re potentially facing:

  • License suspension of at least 180 days:
  • A fine of between $500 -$2000
  • Up to 50 hours of community service
  • Six to nine months in jail with a BAC of .15 or a minor in the vehicle or if a minor was in the vehicle up to 9 months
  • As much as a year of probation
  • 12 hours of DUI School—at your expense: $245 for a first timer
  • An ignition interlock device installed in your car—also at your expense: $170 installation and 450 for six months with a BAC of 0.15 or higher or a minor in the vehicle at the time of the offense
  • If you are granted a hardship/ business purposed restricted license with special services: you will pay an enrollment fee of approximately $250 and $100 per month thereafter, until you have your regular license reinstated.
  • 10 days of impound fees @ $10 per day

 

If it’s your second offense, you’re potentially looking at:

  • Nine months to a year in jail
  • $1000 to $4000 in fines or $2,000 to $4,000 with BAC of .15 or a minor in the car
  • License suspension from 180 days to 12 months, if it has been more than 5 years since your last DUI conviction.
  • If within 5 years from prior conviction will result in at least a 5 year revocation. You may apply for a hardship license only after one year from effective date of revocation.
  • Ignition Interlock Device, if you are given a hardship/businesses purpose license after a year for a year, or two years with BAC of 15 or above or a if minor was in the car, at $100-$250 installation plus the monthly user fee for the duration (Click here to learn more about ignition interlock devices)
  • FR-44 insurance required at increased rate
  • Level 2 DUI School, at your expense: $421.50
  • 30 days of impound @ $10 per day

 

Penalties for a third DUI offense include:

  • Mandatory minimum of 30 days in jail up to a year
  • $2000 to $5000 in fines
  • Up to a five year license revocation
  • If within 10 years of second conviction, a 10-year revocation. You must serve 2 years of revocation before you can apply for a hardship
  • Level 2 DUI School at your expense: $421.50
  • Ignition interlock device at your expense if you get a restricted hardship/business purposes license
  • FR-44 insurance required for three years at increased rate
  • 90 days impound @ $10 per day

 

Penalties for DUI under the Legal Drinking Age

If you are under the legal drinking age of 21, you are facing penalties for DUI under Florida’s “zero tolerance” policy if you show even a .02 blood alcohol content. For a first offense:

  • Six month suspension of your driver’s license
  • Fines from $1000-$2000
  • If your BAC was .05 or higher, a substance abuse evaluation and class
  • If your BAC was .08 or above, jail time is a possibility, at the judge’s discretion

 

For a second offense,

  • One year suspension of your license
  • 10 days to a year in jail
  • Fines from $1000 to $4000

 

In addition, your insurance company is likely to either cancel your coverage or jack up the rate. Before you are allowed to reinstate your license, you’ll need to first prove to the DMV that you have arranged for insurance coverage by obtaining an SR-22 form from your insurer.