DUI in a Florida Motor Vehicle Accident

 

In Florida, penalties for DUI are harsher if you were involved in an accident. The severity of the potential penalties will depend on the damage that was done: property damage or non-serious personal injury, serious personal injury, or death. In addition to criminal charges, you will likely be the subject of a civil law suit for serious personal injury or wrongful death. These are the criminal penalties:

  • DUI with damage to property or one that has resulted in someone suffering a minor injury is a first degree misdemeanor punishable by up to (12) twelve months in jail and a $1,000 fine (Six months in jail is the maximum for a first DUI that did not result in property damage or personal injury).
  • DUI cases in which another person is seriously injured can be charged as a 3rd degree felony under Florida law, with a penalty of up to 5 years in prison and a $5,000.00 fine if you are convicted.
  • DUI Vehicular Manslaughter is a second degree felony in Florida. If you caused an accident in which someone is killed and are convicted of DUI, you will go to prison for a minimum of four years and possibly as long as 15 years. Lifetime revocation of your driver’s license is mandatory with a Florida DUI Manslaughter conviction.

These penalties are harsh and life-disrupting. Don’t go down without a fight. Attorney Stephen Maltezos will step in to defend your rights and will conduct his own investigation to discover weaknesses in the prosecutor’s case, working to achieve the best outcome for you. Defenses are available, so call Maltezos Law immediately. Steve will come out to begin your defense from the earliest moments following your arrest— at any time, around the clock. Most DUI accidents happen at night. Don’t wait for the sun to rise; call now!